Last week Unipres UK Limited (March 23) attended the North East Automotive Alliance (NEAA) annual awards.

Eden McGlen, Engineering Tutor was nominated for the Geoff Ford MBE Apprentice Award.

Coming runner up, Eden, was beaten by Lily Turner, who is a maintenance technician with Nissan Motor Manufacturing UK.

North East Automotive Alliance Annual Awards Dinner at the Ramside Hall Hotel in Durham Picture: DAVID WOOD


She said: ‘I am grateful to have been a part of the North East Automotive Alliance Awards 2023 and being a finalist in an all-female line-up for the George Ford MBE Award 2023. It was a fantastic night with some amazing people. Thank you to Unipres for the opportunities I have been given to get me this far and well done to all winners truly deserved!’





Held at Ramside Hall Hotel, Durham, the awards honoured the brightest talent and outstanding achievements of companies shaping the North East automotive industry, while, at the same time, raising funds for a schools’ STEM project.

Paul Butler, CEO of the NEAA, said: “The awards evening was a fabulous celebration of the companies and people that have established the North East as a world class location for the automotive sector. The NEAA and its members combine fierce ambition and drive with an openness and desire to collaborate, support and encourage all of those operating in the sector.

“That spirit of unity is demonstrated in many ways, not least through the tremendous financial support that the NEAA, via the generosity of its members, has been able to put forward to support STEM projects in our local schools, in just 4 events £61,000 has been awarded to support future talent. It was particularly inspiring and uplifting to hear Lily speak so passionately about ladies in STEM and how a new wave of young people is set to shape the future of our industry.”

Eden was joined by our Director of Finance & Administration Andrew Fawell, Commercial & Purchasing Manager Gary Gilby and Gary Graham, and Rob Dodds who nominated her for the award

The full list of winners: 

Geoff Ford MBE Apprentice Award, sponsored by Gateshead College.

  • Lily Turner – Nissan Motor Manufacturing UK

Graduate Award, sponsored by Marelli

  • Nathaniel Cutler – Komatsu UK

Innovation and Technology Award, sponsored by Newcastle University

  • Large/Multinational – Nissan Motor Manufacturing UK
  • SME – Fuzzy Logic Studio

Sustainability Award, sponsored by Nissan Motor Manufacturing UK

  • Large/Multinational – Port of Tyne
  • SME – Aspire Technology Solutions

Employer of the Year Award, sponsored by Invest South Tyneside

  • Adient Seating

SME Company of the Year Award, sponsored by North East Institute of Technology (NEIoT)

  • Ford Engineering,

Outstanding Contribution Award, sponsored by Sunderland City Council

  • Kevin Fitzpatrick CBE, Senior Vice President, Region Manufacturing & Supply Chain, Nissan Motor Manufacturing UK